Buckeye Accolades

FootballWith one of the greatest seasons coming to an end, the Ohio State Buckeyes, as a team, have accomplished an impressive 12-0 season. This is perhaps the best “award” a team could be given — a chance to play for the National Championship. While there can only be one “Team Award,” many individual Buckeyes have played exceptionally well, and our deserving of personal recognition.

Now that we prepare with the bowl game, let’s take a look at the awards that Buckeyes have qualified for. Hit the jump for the complete list.

Bronko Nagurski Trophy – The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the best defensive player in college football by the Football Writers Association of America, sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The finalists are:
DE Gaines Adams, Clemson
CB Leon Hall, Michigan
LB James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
S Reggie Nelson, Florida
LB Patrick Willis, University of Mississippi

Butkus Award – The Butkus Award is given annually to the nation’s top college linebacker and is presented by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando.

James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
Paul Posluszny, Penn State
Patrick Willis, University of Mississippi

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award – The Davey O’Brien Award is given annually to the nation’s outstanding quarterback by the Davey O’Brien Foundation.

Colt Brennan, Hawai’i
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
Troy Smith, Ohio State

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award – Given to the nation’s top Senior Quarterback.

John Beck, BYU
Kevin Kolb, Houston
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
Troy Smith, Ohio State
Drew Stanton, Michigan State

Maxwell Award – The Maxwell award is given to the College Player of the Year, as judged by sports journalists, NCAA head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club.

QB Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
RB Ray Rice, Rutgers
QB Troy Smith, Ohio State

Rimington Trophy – The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the player considered to be the best center in college football.

Mark Bihl, Michigan
Doug Datish, Ohio State
Ryan Kalil, Southern Cal
Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas
Dan Mozes, West Virginia
Darnell Stapleton, Rutgers

Vince Lombardi Award – The Rotary Lombardi Award is awarded annual to the best college football lineman or linebacker.

OL Justin Blalock, Texas
DT Quinn Pitcock, Ohio State
LB Paul Posluszny, Penn State
DE LaMarr Woodley, Michigan

Walter Camp – The Walter Camp Award is given annually to the football player judged by a group of NCAA head coaches and sports information directors under the auspices of the Walter Camp Football Foundation as the Player of the Year.

QB Colt Brenann, Hawai’i
RB Darren McFadden, Arkansas
QB Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
RB Steve Slaton, West Virginia
QB Troy Smith, Ohio State

Heisman Trophy – Hopefully no explanation needed here. As Zed said in Men in Black, they are the best of the best of the best. I don’t think Finalists have been announced yet, but let’s be honest here, do we really need to list the competition?

Finalists (total guess (with help from this)):
Mike Hart, Michigan
Darren McFadden, Arkansas
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
Troy Smith, Ohio State

George Munger Award – College Coach of the Year awarded by the Maxwell Football Club.

Greg Schiano, Rutgers
Jim Tressel, Ohio State
Charlie Weis, Notre Dame

Broyles Award – The Broyles Award is an annual award given to honor the best assistant coach in college football.

Joe Daniels, Ohio State (Passing game coordinator and quarterbacks coach)
Bud Foster, Virginia Tech (Defensive coordinator and inside linebackers coach)
Reggie Herring, Arkansas (Defensive coordinator)
Paul Petrino, Louisville (Offensive coordinator)
Brent Venables, Oklahoma (Associate head coach, defensive coordinator and linebackers coach)

Phew, that’s a lot. I think I got them all. Let me know if I missed any.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: