Pryor Named Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalist

Pretty good for a project QB.

FB: Pryor Named Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalist

Junior leads the Big Ten with 18 touchdown passes; ranks 11 in NCAA in passer efficiency


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior quarterback Terrelle Pryor is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, which takes into consideration quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Pryor leads a Buckeye offense that is averaging a Big Ten-best 40.8 points per game and is one of six active FBS quarterbacks with at least 1,000 career rushing yards and 5,000 passing yards. He leads all Big Ten quarterbacks with 18 touchdown passes and ranks 11th in the nation in passer efficiency with a 162.8 rating. Pryor has completed 66 percent of his passes for 1,775 yards and has thrown at least one touchdown pass in all but one game. He also has rushed for 408 yards and three touchdowns, which include three 100-yard rushing performances.

The Jeannette, Pa., native had his best all-around game against No. 12 Miami (FL) in September when he threw for 233 yards and a score and rushed for a career-high 113 yards and another score in the 36-24 win. In the win over Ohio, Pryor set a school-record with 16 consecutive completions against the Bobcats, the second most in Big Ten history. Pryor would go on to set another school record the very next game against Eastern Michigan by accounting for six touchdowns in a single game: four passing, one rushing and one receiving.

Against Indiana Oct. 9, Pryor threw for a career-high 334 yards and three touchdowns and is coming off a 270-yard, three touchdown passing performance in the win against Purdue in just three quarters of play – a game in which the Buckeyes racked up 415 total yards in the opening half.

Pryor joins three other Big Ten quarterbacks on the list: Michigan State’s Kirk Cousins, Michigan’s Denard Robinson and Iowa’s Ricky Stanzi.

2010 Davey O’Brien Semifinalists

Matt Barkley         SO           USC                         Pac-10

Kirk Cousins          JR            Michigan State      Big Ten

Andy Dalton          SR            TCU                         MWC

Blaine Gabbert     JR            Missouri                 Big 12

Robert Griffin III   SO           Baylor                     Big 12

Landry Jones         SO           Oklahoma              Big 12

Colin Kaepernick SR            Nevada                   WAC

Andrew Luck        JR            Stanford                 Pac-10

Ryan Mallett          JR            Arkansas                SEC

Taylor Martinez    FR            Nebraska               Big 12

Kellen Moore       JR            Boise State            WAC

Cam Newton         JR            Auburn                 SEC

Terrelle Pryor       JR            Ohio State             Big Ten

Denard Robinson SO           Michigan                Big Ten

Ricky Stanzi           SR            Iowa                        Big Ten

Darron Thomas     SO           Oregon                 Pac-10


  1. I know a lot of people out there have yet to be impressed by his conference leading stats, but this is well-deserved.

  2. Scratch the “SO”s off the list and the competition narrows a bit.

    Looking at the underclassmen, next year looks to be a good year for CFB quarterbacking. It makes me wonder if any JR QBs on the fence about declaring at the end of this season might take the plunge, what with next year shaping up to have a glut of great senior QBs who will choke up the draft.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: